The Nineteenth-Century French Studies Association is made up of scholars in the United States, Canada, France, Belgium, the United Kingdom, and elsewhere, whose work focuses on a wide variety of aspects of nineteenth-century literature, history, arts, and cultures in France and the French-speaking world.

Founded in 1974, the association holds an annual colloquium in the autumn of each year. The annual meeting is the occasion for formal and informal discussions of the field, the development of collaborative projects, and general exchange on nineteenth-century French studies.

The association sponsors two annual awards: the Naomi Schor Memorial Award for the best graduate student submission and the Larry Schehr Memorial Award for the best essay by a junior faculty member.

There are no membership dues, but donations to the association are appreciated. These donations fund the association’s memorial awards mentioned above. Information on how to contribute can be found here.

We invite you to subscribe to the association mailing list by clicking on the “subscribe” tab in the menu above.

Header art by Rosa Bonheur, Puvis de Chavannes, Berthe Morisot, Odilon Redon, Marie Bracquemond, Jacques-Louis David, Jean Renoir, Georges Seurat